Reflection Blog

Wow. It has now been four days since we returned home despite United Airlines best effort to keep us traveling. I honestly thought that we would never make it to Kansas City. Our flight was cancelled in Washington then our connecting flight to MCI from Chicago was temporarily cancelled due to engine malfunction. It honestly felt like a joke. Fortunately, for me and many others, such a series of unfortunate events did not overshadow the incredible experience we had abroad! Now that I’ve had time to reflect on the trip, I can say it was the best decision I’ve made in quite some time. I decided that it was so great because of our amazing leaders, John and Amanda, and the group that we went with. I did not expect to meet so many great people in SELF, and become closer to my fellow BLPs that I’ve spent the whole year with! My favorite part of the trip was the weekend excursion to Portorož/Piran.

Now that I’m back in America, it is safe to say I’m having withdrawals. The four-course meals, the incredible scenery, the fascinating company visits; I loved it all. Next summer, I hope to find a group to study abroad for a longer term. I have the Europe bug!

-Wyatt Lewis Gaddy

Leave a Reply

