Hvala, Slovenia

Sitting here in Dulles Airport for about 18 hours waiting to get to Kansas City, I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on this experience as a whole. I can honestly say that Slovenia exceeded my already lofty expectations. Every single area of the country that we travelled to was special in its own way. Whether it was the charm of Ljubljana, or the sunny shores of the Adriatic in Piran, or the grandness of the forests and Lake Bled, Slovenia never failed to make me smile.

I’m thankful to have had the opportunities to see the presentations and company tours as well. Each business showcased the tenacity and work ethic of Slovenia. They showed that a business from a smaller area can be a player in the global market of today. The businesses almost all had environmental goals, which I found very admirable and I hope to see similar practices more often in the United States.

Finally, I’m grateful for getting the chance to create and build relationships with my fellow students, especially the SELF students. I came into this trip not really having met any of the engineers and I’m ending this trip with a bunch of new friends. I also got to know a lot of the BLPs better. Everyone always had a great attitude during the trip and I really admired that. I can’t wait to see what we all achieve in the future.

This experience enriching in many ways and when I come back to Europe to study next Spring, Slovenia will definitely be at the top of my list of places to visit.

Till next time, Slovenia. Hvala.

Leave a Reply

