Saying Goodbye

Today was the last day in Slovenia unfortunately; however, I had a fantastic time. We toured the company called Elan. It was very fascinating watching them produce the skis and snowboards. There was so much attention to detail in each step. After our visit, we visited Lake Bled and all that it had to offer. This was one of the most beautiful places that I have ever been to in my life. The water was so blue, and the castle was gorgeous. I was also very happy to ring the bell in the church for a wish. We were treated to some fantastic food. I really enjoyed the cream cake, which is known to this region. It was an amazing day overall that I will never forget.

The trip as a whole has been an unforgettable experience. I have seen so many things that I had not before or would ever see. Each company was unique in its own way, and I was able to learn something new from each visit. I want to try and use what I learned to shape my leadership style. I was also very grateful to have been immersed in the Slovenian culture. Being a major in another language, I always love to learn about different cultures and their languages. This experience really excited me since I had never learned Slovene. I was able to learn some phrases throughout the trip and communicate with some locals. I loved being able to do this! Meeting people really allows one to see more into the culture and world they live in. I have loved every second of this experience, and I am very sad to be leaving.

I have always been extremely nervous about studying abroad. It scares me to be on my own completely in a new culture. However, this experience has given me a lot more confidence. I know that I would succeed in a study abroad. In fact, I began looking into internships abroad during this trip. I would love to be able to go abroad again. It is such a unique experience.

I am so happy that I decided to join this trip. It was a wonderful experience that I will remember for the rest of my life.

Emily Bridges

Leave a Reply

